Stay connected.      

  Make a Gift  


Announcing this year's Bassett Society Scholarship Awardees

Awards and Recognition

With over 300 former Duke Blue Devil letter winners, now physicians and dentists; the Bassett Society was founded in 1985 by long-time Team physician, Dr. Frank Bassett, and former All-American physician, Dr. T. Moorman, II, to honor Duke Varsity Letter-winners with Scholarship Support for Medical and Dental Education after their Duke Careers.

We are excited to announce this year’s awardees for the Bassett Scholarship in the amount of $7,500 each. Our four winners are:





Nick McCrory, former Blue Devil Diver and member of the US Olympic Team in 2012, during which time he won an Olympic Bronze Medal for the 10-meter synch.





Mack Hardaker, former Captain of the Duke Men’s Lacrosse Team and member of the winning 2001 and 2002 ACC Championship teams.




Kelby Brown, former Duke Football player who was named to the 2015 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team.






Elizabeth Howell, former Duke Rower who made the All-ACC Academic Honor Roll and CRCA Scholar-Athlete Awardee.





We invite everyone to attend the Duke-Baylor football game on Saturday, September 16, 2017, where the announcement will be made during one of the time outs. A proud Blue Devil Congratulations goes out to Nick, Mack, Kelby, and Elizabeth for this outstanding achievement!