Ortho Intranet Site      Make a Gift       QGenda 



Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery

Benjamin A. Alman, MD
James Urbaniak Professor and Chair


Alison Toth, MD
Executive Vice Chair
Vice Chair for Faculty
Director, Patient Safety and Quality

David E. Attarian, MD
Vice Chair, Clinical

Steven Z. George, PT, PhD

Vice Chair for Research

Louis E. DeFrate, Sc.D.
Vice Chair Biomechanics, Movement, and Imaging Research
Frank H. Bassett III, MD Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Adam Goode, PT, Ph.D.
Vice Chair of Clinical Research and Epidemiology



Bruce D. Browner, MD, MHCM, FACS, FAOA, FAAOS
Associate Chair for Education

Matthew Hilton, PhD
Associate Chair for Research, Basic/Translational Sciences


Chad Cook, PT, PhD
Director of Clinical Research Facilitation

Melissa Erickson, MD
Executive Director OR Operations

Joe Minchew, MD
Site Director, Duke Regional Hospital

Steven A. Olson, MD, FACS
Director, Ortho Clinical Research Unit

Erica Taylor, MD
Site Director, Duke Raleigh Hospital

Alison Toth, MD
Director, Patient Safety and Quality


William A. Jiranek, MD
Chair of Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure

Erica Taylor, MD
Chair, Orthopaedic Inclusion Workforce Committee


Robert D. Fitch, MD

Director, Residency Program

W. Todd Cade, PT, PhD
Division Chief
Doctor of Physical Therapy

Barb Hooper, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA
Division Chief
Occupational Therapy Doctorate


Michael P. Bolognesi, MD
Adult Reconstruction Division Chief

David S. Ruch, MD
Hand and Upper Extremity Division Chief

Steve A. Olson, MD 
Hip Preservation, TOPPs (Trauma, Oncology, Peds, and Hip Preservation) Division Chief

Christopher L. Shaffrey, MD 
Spine Division Chief

Ned Amendola, MD 
Sports Medicine Division Chief

Mark Easley, MD 
Foot & Ankle Division Chief

Todd Cade, PT, PhD

Division Chief and Program Director
Duke Doctor of Physical Therapy

Barbara Hooper, Ph.D., OTR, FAOTA

Program Director and Division Chief
Occupational Therapy Doctorate


Brian E. Brigman, MD  
Oncology Section Head

Samuel Adams, MD
Section of Orthopaedic Surgeon Clinician Scientists

Robert Lark, MD
Pediatrics Section Head

Oke A. Anakwenze, MD, MBA
Shoulder Section Head

Doctor of Physical Therapy Division

odd Cade, PT, Ph.D
Professor, Division Chief, and Program Director

Tiffany Hilton, PT, PhD
Assistant Program Director/Director of Curriculum 

Katie Myers, PT, DPT
Director of Clinical Education
Assistant Professor

Carol Figuers, PT, EdD
Director of Student Affairs

J. Kyle Covington, PT, DPT, Ph.D., NCS

Director of Admission and Assessment

Occupational Therapy Doctorate Division

Barbara Hooper, Ph.D., OTR, FAOTA

Program Director and Division Chief

Sarah Jean Barton, ThD, MS, OTR/L, BCP
Assistant Professor of Occupational Therapy and Theological Ethics

Sheila Moyle, OTD, MOT, OTR/L
Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Fieldwork Coordinator

MaryBeth Gallagher, Ph.D., OTR/L, BCMH
Assistant Professor


Dara Purvis, MHA

Chief Administrative Officer
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

John McCall

Vice Chief of Administration and Operations
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Duke Doctor of Physical Therapy
Occupational Therapy Doctorate

Tomasa Barrientos De Renshaw, Ph.D.
Lead Research Administrator

Janna Foncesa, MEd, LAT, ATC
Division Administrator
Sports Medicine and Hand Surgery

Delores McNair, MHA
Division Administrator

Leah Roshetar, MHA
Division Administrator
Adult Reconstruction, Foot and Ankle, and TOPPS (Trauma, Oncology, Peds, and Hip Preservation)

Robyn Miller
Human Resources

Jason Remhoff

Director of Finance

John Bonini

Director of Clinical Operations

Raymond Malaguti
Associate Director of Clinical Operations

Holley Broughton
Communications Strategist